Mobile Menu


The South Dakota Board of Technical Education provides support and oversight of the technical college system. The board is comprised of nine members, appointed by the Governor, representing a wide variety of industries and geographic locations throughout the state.

Launched in 2017, the Board of Technical Education supports Lake Area Technical College in Watertown, Mitchell Technical College in Mitchell, Southeast Technical College in Sioux Falls, and Western Dakota Technical College in Rapid City.

The Board of Technical Education's chartering statute, 13-39A, establishes the key functions and authorities of the board.